Archive for September 29, 2008

ROBANI (Sultan Alauddin) Banking On Lucky Four

By HARESH DEOL (September 29, 2008)

Robani (right) hopes to end his career on a positive note

Don’t expect to see national hurdler Robani Hassan in a Hari Raya blockbuster anytime soon.

Fresh from his theatre debut, the KL athlete has no interest in joining the likes of Jamaluddin Hassan or Rosyam Nor on screen just yet. In fact, Robani has a long way to go to join the ranks of sportsmen-turned actors such as ex-Chelsea player Vinnie Jones, erratic basketball star Dennis Rodman and former pro skateboarder Jason Lee, who’s now best known as Earl Hickey in My Name is Earl.

Robani played Sul tan Alauddin Ria’ayat Shah in a stage show entitled Sultan Alauddin which made its rounds earlier this month.

“Running still remains my first passion but who knows what could happen after next year,” said Robani.

“I could take up a movie offer!” he quipped.

Robani admitted life on the stage is ‘tiresome’ compared to hurdling around the track.

“The dialogue is the same but the mood of the actors and the crowd is different every night. Basically, every day is a different drama altogether,” said Robani, who hinted he may hang up his spikes next year.

“Yes, I have thought about quitting, maybe after next year. However, I’m still trying to improve my time.”

Despite being bugged with some minor injuries last year, things have been picking up steadily for the Cheras-based runner as he managed a personal best of 13.85s at the National Open in Bukit Jalil and won the gold medal at the Vietnam Open in July. However, his timing is still a far cry from the national record of 13.73s held by Nur Herman Majid since 1994.

Robani hopes to start the year with a bang by clinching his fourth consecutive gold medal at the Asean University Games this December.

“Four is an unlucky number for the Chinese community and I’m hoping it’ll be a lucky charm for me,” added Robani who is in his final semester in Business Administration at Putra Malaysia University .

“It’s not going to be easy as I’m recovering from several injuries — knee, ankle and back. I’ve resumed training two weeks ago after a short break.”

“The Laos Sea Games could be my last and I want to end it on a positive note.”

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Tags: , , ,